Maggie Gyllenhaal Dishes On Being A Working Mom

Even if she didn’t take home a statue for her role as a single mother in Crazy Heart, real-life mom Maggie Gyllenhaal can still take stock in the fact that she looked absolutely stunning at this past Sunday’s Oscars. 

Like most moms, she had troubled returning to work right after her daughter Ramona was born in 2006. Since that time Maggie has appeared in Dark Night and Away We Go. The two films both shot in a matter of days and she’s  admitted her focus was still on her baby girl the whole time she was on set.  When she decided to take the role in Crazy Heart, she was able to think more of herself and her needs.

  “My daughter was almost two when I made this movie, and I was having that feeling that parents must have intermittently throughout their children’s lives. I had it for the first time, like I had been focused almost completely on my daughter, on being a mother, and I had this surge of a feeling that I needed to do something for me,” she tells the Huffington Post. “I was also a woman and an actress and not just a mother. I worked.”

We’re sure Ramona will love mom’s next role! Maggie will be starring in the family flick Nanny McPhee and the Big Bang, which is set for release later this year.

BY MS

Source: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/brad-balfour/actor-maggie-gyllenhaal-g_b_488524.html

Leave a Reply

